RSS

Review: Glass Houses, Rachel Caine

13 Feb

27266“From the author of the popular Weather Warden series comes the debut of an exciting new series set in Morganville, Texas, where you would be well advised to avoid being out after dark.

College freshman Claire Danvers has had enough of her nightmarish dorm situation. When Claire heads off-campus, the imposing old house where she finds a room may not be much better. Her new roommates don’t show many signs of life, but they’ll have Claire’s back when the town’s deepest secrets come crawling out, hungry for fresh blood.”

This is going to be a short review because there really isn’t a whole lot here to talk about. What you see is what you get with Glass Houses, if you’re prepared to fully suspend disbelief at all times then you’ll have fun with it. There are some nice touches and it’s very much a PG-rated YA vamp ‘romp’. Definitely one for the girls, but it’s safe, and my God I’ve read an awful lot worse. Think of it as “Being Human” for absolute beginners.

I found Claire to be really quite ridiculously annoying, but that was balanced out by Eve and Michael being a lot of fun. I thought the idea of “Common Grounds” was deft, and I was all in favour of the notion of ‘The Book’, although I think an awful lot more could have been done with it. Amelie intrigued me and I thought she was well written. Michael’s ‘situation’ is interesting too. There were actually quite a few aspects of this that I would have loved to have seen explored in more detail, but with a series of 14 (I think?) books now I suppose Caine needs to hold plenty back for later.

Glass Houses is fast-paced, daft-but-enjoyable, definitely-for-kids-but-what-the-hell fun. It only takes a couple of hours to read, and the most annoying thing about it is the cliffhanger ending. It’s shameless. You’re not going to want to read this one without having the second book to hand.

I don’t have any issues at all with Caine’s writing, it’s engaging right from the off, and it’s nice to curl up with something lighter-than-air every once in awhile. Really not much else I can find to say. I enjoyed it, but it’s YA enough that I have to go for the Kindle edition to save face in the office. I would never hear the end of it otherwise. If you want something with layered meanings and hidden depth, look away. If you want a bit of guilty fluff, dig in.

 

3A Phoenix Fantasy Three Star Read

 

[Glass Houses is published by Allison & Busby and is available in Paperback and Electronic format]

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
