RSS

Ugh, City of Bones? Really?

17 Feb

I’ve heard no end of good things about City of Bones, but I’ve had to put is aside as it’s very much not for me. Mindless drivel, IMHO. Now don’t get me wrong, there’s a place for mindless drivel I know, but this isn’t even remotely engaging drivel, and I’ve got too much to read to suffer through it. So, ’tis with a heavy heart that I’ve given it up on it.

tumblr_m7wbklvAhq1r1tzq5

In all honesty, the torso on the cover should’ve been a clue. I’ve yet to read anything decent that features a naked torso. But I’m ever hopeful.

Tomorrow, I have the rarest of rare things, a day off work! Maman and I will be hitting Waterstones, and I’m going to be on the lookout for some DECENT YA reads. Intelligent, thought-provoking, and unusual is what I need. Wish me luck!

 

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 17, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Ugh, City of Bones? Really?

  1. Cindy Callens (@DraumrKopaBlog)

    February 19, 2013 at 9:18 am

    Books with a torso on the cover usually get a big fat “NO” from me.
    I’ve tried reading City of Bones last year, but quit after 25 pages. I’ve read her “prequel” books (Clockwork Angel, Clockwork Prince) but didn’t like them either. They are fast reads though, but the quality is just aweful in my opinion.
    If you want a decent YA read, I’d recommend Cinda Williams Chima, I love her books!

     
  2. phoenixfantasy

    February 19, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    I honestly don’t know what I was thinking. I didn’t mind Clockwork Angel, but this was unbearable!
    I’ll look up Chima, thanks 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
